New Parliament meets, Karu elected Speaker

KaruThe new Parliament convened today and United National Party (UNP) Parliamentarian Karu Jayasuriya was elected as the new Speaker.

Jayasuriya was elected to the post unanimously after his name was proposed by Prime Minister Ranil Wickremesinghe and seconded by Sri Lanka Freedom Party member Nimal Siripala de Silva.

The newly elected members of Parliament later took oaths before the new Speaker.

United People’s Freedom Alliance (UPFA) MP Thilanga Sumathipala was elected as the new Deputy Speaker of Parliament.

Tamil National Alliance (TNA) MP Selvam Adaikalanathan was elected as the Deputy Chairman of Committees. (Colombo Gazette)