Thilanga, S.B, Samarasinghe in UPFA national list

Thilanga-300x225United People’s Freedom Alliance (UPFA) members Thilanga Sumathipala, Mahinda Samarasinghe and S B Dissanayake, have been included in the UPFA national list.

Others included are Dr. Sarath Amunugama, Wijith Wijayamuni Zoysa, Lakshman Yapa Abeywardena, Malith Jayatillake, R. Ramanathan, A.H.M Fowzie, Dilan Perera, Faiszer Musthapha and A.M. Hisbullah.

Meanwhile, Kumar Wellgama, Pavithra Wanniarachi and S.M. Chandrasena have been removed from the UPFA Executive Committee.

They had revived letters today informing that they were no longer UPFA Executive Committee members. (Colombo Gazette)


  1. This is not Yahapalanaya. Maithreepala should have followed Ranil’s example and not appointed the defeated politicians.They were defeated by the public in a democratic procss for a purpose, but the President is going against the public and appointing henchmen. Shame on you Maithreepala. What more dirty things can we expect in the future. I hope Ranil stands up to him.

    • I’m not familiar with all politicians and political scandals, so I may get some details wrong.

      However, is it not true that Mahinda Samarasinghe, Dr. Sarath Amunugama, and Faizer Mustapha are of the calibre who should be in parliament? This may apply to some of the others as well. The problems faced by Ranil and Maithri are different. Candidates on the UPFA list who remained faithful to Maithri stood almost no chance of getting elected.

      I really think that there should be an age limit for M.Ps. A.H.M. Fouzi may dress dapperly, but wasn’t he a whole six or seven years younger when he made a horrible mistake about a petroleum hedging agreement.

      The list is certainly a mixed lot. Dilan Perera did not contest from any District; he was on the National List, and he was one of the MaRa favourites. I guess this represents compromises of all sorts!

Comments are closed.