Pakistan beat Sri Lanka by seven wickets in 4th ODI

Sri Lanka's captain Angelo Mathews, right, congratulates Pakistan's Shoaib Malik for their win over Sri Lanka in the fourth one day international cricket match in Colombo, Sri Lanka, Wednesday, July 22, 2015. Pakistan won by 7 wickets. (AP Photo/Eranga Jayawardena)

Pakistan beat Sri Lanka by seven wickets in the fourth one-day international on Wednesday to secure an unassailable 3-1 lead in the five-match series at R. Premadasa Stadium.

Batting first after winning the toss, Sri Lanka made 256-9 in 50 overs β€” a target that Pakistan chased down with more than nine overs to spare at R. Premadasa Stadium.

Shehzad missed out on a seventh ODI century as he was dismissed for 95 made off 90 deliveries. He hit a six and 12 boundaries.

Hafeez made 70, continuing his good form in the series. He faced 88 deliveries; hitting a six and eight boundaries.

Earlier, Lahiru Thirimanne scored 90 to lift Sri Lanka to a competitive 256-9 off their 50 overs in the crucial fourth one-day international against Pakistan in Colombo.

The left-hander put on 109 for the second wicket with Tillakaratne Dilshan (50) after opener Kusal Perera had been dismissed off the second ball of the match.

Perera skied a ball from tall fast bowler Mohammad Irfan after Sri Lankan captain Angelo Mathews won the toss for the first time on Pakistan’s current tour.

Thirimanne missed his fifth one-day century when he swept leg-spinner Yasir Shah to deep square-leg, where Ahmed Shehzad picked up a low catch to make amends for a dropped catch in the bowler’s previous over.

Sri Lanka must win the day-night match at the Premadasa stadium to stay afloat in the five-match series which Pakistan lead by a 2-1 margin.

Besides Thirimanne and Dilshan, none of the other top-order batsmen settled in as Mathews fell for 12 and Dinesh Chandimal was dismissed after making 20. Tailender Lasith Malinga smashed 17 off 13 balls at the end to ensure Sri Lanka crossed the 250-run mark.

Sri Lanka brought in Ashan Priyanjan and Suranga Lakmal in place of Upul Tharanga and Thisara Perera, while Pakistan retained the team that won the third match last Sunday.

Pakistan 257-3 in 40.5 overs (Ahmed Shehzad 95, Mohammad Hafeez 70; Milinda Siriwardana 1-28)

Sri Lanka 256-9 in 50 overs (Lahiru Thirimanne 90, Tillakaratne Dilshan 50; Mohammad Irfan 3-50, Anwar Ali 2-41). (Agencies)