Cabinet agrees on a new 20-A proposal

ElectionsThe cabinet, which met for another special session today, has agreed on a new proposal for electoral reforms via the 20th Amendment to the constitution.

Accordingly the cabinet, which on Monday agreed on a 225 member parliament, has now agreed to a proposal by President Maithripala Sirisena for a 237 seat Parliament, the Government information department said.

The 237 seats will be divided into 145 members elected via the First-Past-The-Post system, 55 via the Proportional Representation system and 37 from the National List.

On Monday the cabinet had approved a proposal by Prime Minister Ranil Wickremesinghe to have a 225 member parliament with 125 members elected via the first past the post system, 75 via the proportional representation system and 25 from the National list.

However some political parties were not happy, including minor parties who had wanted more seats in parliament under the new system.

Leader of the National Workers Union and Government Minister P Digambaram had said this week that the estate community did not agree with the proposals approved by cabinet on Monday.

Digambaram said that the 20th Amendment to the constitution, approved by cabinet on Monday, did not ensure fair representation for the estate community. (Colombo Gazette)