Mubarak back in Test squad for Pakistan series

z_p16-MubarakJehan Mubarak has made a comeback to the Sri Lanka Test squad after nearly eight years, for the upcoming home series against Pakistan. Three younger players were also included in the 16-man squad: offspinner Tharindu Kaushal, uncapped fast bowler Dushmantha Chameera and left-handed batsman Kusal Perera.

Fast bowler Shaminda Eranga was not considered because of a back injury while Suranga Lakmal’s inclusion would depend on his fitness because of a groin injury.

Mubarak, 34, last played a Test in 2007 and was in firm contention for a place in the Test squad after scoring over 1000 domestic runs in each of the two past seasons, and averaging 81.78 in the Premier League Tournament since the beginning of 2014. He recently also caught the eye of Jonty Rhodes for his fielding, during the former South African’s 10-day training camp in Sri Lanka.

Sri Lanka will host Pakistan for three Tests, starting with the first one on June 17 in Galle, followed by the second in Colombo and third in Pallekele before the ODIs and T20Is.

Test squad: Angelo Mathews (captain), Lahiru Thirimanne (vice-captain), Kaushal Silva, Dimuth Karunaratne, Kumar Sangakkara, Dinesh Chandimal, Kithruwan Vithanage, Jehan Mubarak, Kusal Perera, Rangana Herath, Dilruwan Perera, Tharindu Kaushal, Nuwan Pradeep, Dhammika Prasad, Dushmantha Chameera, Suranga Lakmal (subject to fitness). (Courtesy ESPN Cricinfo)