Civil society call for Parliament elections

handsCivil society in Sri Lanka have called on President Maithripala Sirisena to dissolve Parliament and hold Parliament elections soon.

A joint statement by local civil society noted that it is now more than a month after the 23rd of April 2015, promised as the date for the dissolution of Parliament in the 100-day programme of the National Democratic Front presidential election manifesto. The statement noted that it is becoming increasingly clear that the momentum generated by the historic January 2015 presidential election is being exhausted, and that the minority government appointed for the sole purpose of executing the 100-day reform programme is drifting aimlessly.

“After the enactment of the Nineteenth Amendment, the reform process itself has become mired in an ambiguous and perplexing morass of competing political self-interests. The current balance of power in the institutions of the state is incongruous and unsustainable, with a President elected in 2015 to undertake thoroughgoing constitutional reforms, on the one hand, and a Parliament elected in 2010 under entirely different circumstances, on the other,” the statement added.

In this context, civil society said that the need for a Twentieth Amendment embodying electoral reforms before the dissolution of Parliament, arose as a necessary quid pro quo in exchange for the support of the UPFA parliamentary majority for the Nineteenth Amendment.

The statement said that given the lack of a coherent position on the part of the UPFA on electoral reforms, it is now even clearer than before that this demand was entirely tactical. Moreover, there has been absolutely no transparency or public consultation in the preparation of the Twentieth Amendment and if current proposals serve to undermine the principle of proportional representation, that would constitute regression not progress from the current system.

“We value President Sirisena’s courage in coming forward as the common opposition candidate in what was a challenging political environment under the previous regime, and applaud his demonstrable commitment to successfully enacting reforms to the executive presidency, even if they have not gone far enough. What is most important to remember about the democratic mandate of the last presidential election, however, is that the people of Sri Lanka voted for fundamental reforms to strengthen and consolidate democracy as much or more than they voted for the winning candidate. This mandate requires not only substantive reforms but also a transformation in the way government and governance is conducted. It cannot be squandered because of political indecisiveness or expediency, repeating the mistakes of the past where Sri Lanka’s enormous potential has been retarded time and again due to the absence of leadership and political maturity,” the statement said.

The joint statement noted that there is a rising perception of crisis and instability, which cannot be allowed to take root. The economy cannot afford this lack of political direction for much longer, and as importantly, the hope and aspiration created by the change of government in January demands both clarity in promises being kept and further progress in reforms, especially with regard to devolution and power-sharing. The time is ripe therefore for fresh parliamentary elections which would allow the people of Sri Lanka to have their say on reforms already enacted and to mandate the direction of the government for the next five years.    (Colombo Gazette)





Association of War Affected Women (AWAW)

Centre for Human Rights and Development (CHRD)

Centre for Policy Alternatives (CPA)

Centre for Women and Development, Jaffna

Families of the Disappeared

Home for Human Rights (HHR)

Inform Human Rights Documentation Centre

International Centre for Ethnic Studies (ICES)

Janawaboda Kendraya

Lawyers Collective

Lawyers for Democracy

Mannar Women’s Development Federation

National Peace Council (NPC)

Rights Now Collective for Democracy

Right to Life Human Rights Centre

Women’s Action Network

Women and Media Collective




Mrs. Rohini Adikari

Mr. Hilmy Ahamed

Mr. Niran Ankitell

Ms Lacika Chathurani

Mrs. Sandra Cooray

Mrs. Matilda Costa

Mrs. Danushka Damayanthie

Ms Marisa de Silva

Ms. Visaka Dharmadasa

Ms. Hasanah Cegu Isadeen

Mr. Britto Fernando

Mrs. D.Rosemary Fernando

Mrs. A.Krishanthi Fernando

Dr. Nimalka Fernando

Mrs. Padma Fernando

Mr. Ruki Fernando

Mr. Luwie N. Ganeshathasan

Mr. Sudarshana Gunawardana

Mr. Lionel Guruge

Mr. Sanjana Hattotuwa

Dr Mrs. Kumudini Kalubovila

Mrs. Sumana Kodikara

Dr. Sepali Kottegoda

Ms. Mahaluxmy Kurushanthan

Mrs. Sriyani Mallika

Mrs. Mariya Madalena

Mrs. Lalitha Madurawala

Mrs. K. D. Malkanthie

Mrs. M. A. P. Malkanthie

Mrs. Rita Maxima

Mrs. Nishanthie

Mrs. Therese Perera

Mrs. K. Violet Perera

Mrs. Rita Perera

Mrs. Sulari Perera

Dr. Jehan Perera

Mrs. R. M. Punchimanike

Mrs. K. Pushpa

Mr. K.S. Ratnevale

Ms Kumudini Samuel

Dr. Paikiasothy Saravanamuttu

Ms Shreen Abdul Saroor

Mr. Raja Senanayake

Mrs.Samurdika Shivanthi

Ms. Vanie Simon

Ms. Saroja Sivachandran

Mr. J.C. Weliamuna

Dr. Asanga Welikala

Mr. Lal Wijenayake

Mrs.Swarna Wijenayaka

Ms Sriyani Wijesundera

Ms Sherrine Xavier