Highest award for six war heroes

President Mahinda Rajapaksa will award the ‘Parama Weera Vibhushanaya’ award, the highest gallantry award any military person receives from the Head of State, on six war heroes tomorrow.
The awards will be handed over to the family members of the six soldiers who were killed during the war, Military spokesman Brigadier Ruwan Wanigasooriya said.
President Mahinda Rajapaksa will hand over the  gallantry awards during the Victory Day parade to be held at Galle Face tomorrow to mark four years since the end of the war.
The slain soldiers receiving the awards are: Captain G N Punsiri (Gajaba Regiment) killed on 2 July 2007 at Uvarakkulam, Lt W T Jayatillake (The Gemunu Watch Regiment) killed on 20 April 2009 at Iranamadu, Staff Sergeant Perera K G N (Commando Regiment) killed on 21 April at Puthumatalan, Sergeant Gunasekara KGD (Commando Regiment) killed on 16 February 2009 at Dara Point, Corporal Nilantha Kumara H A (Commando Regiment) killed on 29 January 2009 at Puthukuduiruppu and Corporal Pushpamal SPML (Commando Regiment) killed on 21 April 2009 at Puthumatalan. (Colombo Gazette)