Four political parties disqualified

The Department of Elections has disqualified four recognized political parties, three with effect from last year and one from this year.
All four political parties had not contested elections over a period of time since being registered as political parties.
A statement by the department of elections said that the Eelam National Democratic Front, National Unity Alliance, Peoples Front of Liberation Tigers and the United National Alternative Front had been disqualified.
The symbols under which the four political parties had been registered were the bull, dove, tiger and gate, the department of elections said.  (Colombo Gazette)