Five uncapped players in Sri Lanka’s T20 squad

Five uncapped players have been named in Sri Lanka’s squad for the one-off Twenty20 that will complete the Bangladesh tour in Pallekele. Kumar Sangakkara, Tillakaratne Dilshan and Nuwan Kulasekara have been rested for the match. Mahela Jayawardene has recovered sufficiently from a finger fracture to be available for selection, but was not picked either.
Allrounders Shehan Jayasuriya, Chaturanga de Silva, Ramith Rambukwella, and fast bowler Ishan Jayaratne were the new additions to the squad, while batsman Angelo Perera, already in the ODI squad, also found a place.
The selectors’ focus on youth development is writ large in their latest team, as all five uncapped players are yet to turn 24, with Jeevan Mendis the only player named in the squad above the age of 30.
Kithuruwan Vithanage, who debuted in the Test series and is in the ODI squad, retained his place for the final assignment of the tour. Sachithra Senanayake was the only specialist spinner, with no room for either Ajantha Mendis, Akila Dananjaya or Tharindu Kaushal.
The match will be Dinesh Chandimal’s first as Twenty20 captain, with Malinga set to be vice-captain for the first time. The squad for the third ODI was unchanged from the side named for the first two matches, after the second game was washed out in Hambantota.
Twenty20 squad: Kusal Perera, Lahiru Thirimanne, Dilshan Munaweera, Dinesh Chandimal (capt & wk), Angelo Mathews, Jeevan Mendis, Kithruwan Withanage, Angelo Perera, Lasith Malinga (vc), Sachithra Senanayaka, Shaminda Eranga, Chathuranga de Silva, Shehan Jayasuriya, Ramith Rambukwella, Ishan Jayaratne, Thisara Perera (Courtesy ESPN Cricinfo)