Opposition signs agreement to topple MR

Several opposition political parties today signed an agreement to work towards a joint objective to topple the government of President Mahinda Rajapaksa.
The ‘Vipakshaye Virodhaya’ signed the memorandum of understanding today based on seven common objectives.
The main opposition United National Party, the NSSP led by Wickremabahu Karunaratne, the Democratic Peoples’ Front led by Mano Ganeshan, the Mawbima Peoples’ Party led by Hemakumara Nanayakkara , the Muslim-Tamil Alliance led by Azath Sally, the Ruhunu Peoples’ Party, the United Peoples’ Front, the Nawa Sihala Urumaya and the civil society organization, the Platform for Freedom were among those who signed the agreement.
Tamil National Alliance MP M.A. Sumanthiran said that his Party did not sign the MoU today because it had not had enough time to pass a resolution sanctioning the signing since many of its leaders were overseas.
The United Socialist Party also did not sign the MoU because its leader Siritunge Jayasuriya was overseas receiving treatment.
UNP leader Ranil Wickremesinghe said that the joint opposition would come together on the singular aim of ridding the country of the Rajapaksa Government. “This movement will form the cornerstone of the battle against the ruling regime,” he said.
Also speaking at the event, Sumanthiran said that the TNA was joining the movement in order to see justice served on the Tamil National question that has been plaguing the country since independence. (Colombo Gazette)