Hemantha resigns, Hashan new selector

Hemantha Wickremeratne has resigned as selector of the national cricket team and Hashan Tillakaratne has been appointed in his place, the Sports Ministry announced today.

The Ministry of Sports had on Monday approved the appointed of a new selection panel for cricket headed by former cricketer Sanath Jayasuriya.

Former cricketers Pramodaya Wickremesinghe, Hemantha Wickremeratne, Chaminda Mendis and Erik Upashantha were named as the new selectors replacing the previous cricket selectors led by Asantha De Mel.

The move follows the Sri Lanka national cricket team having mixed results both in the long and short version of the game. (Colombo Gazette)