New cricket selectors appointed

The Ministry of Sports has approved the appointed of a new selection panel for cricket headed by former cricketer Sanath Jayasuriya.
Former cricketers Pramodaya Wickremesinghe, Hemantha Wickremeratne, Chaminda Mendis and Erik Upashantha were named as the new selectors replacing the previous cricket selectors led by Asantha De Mel.
The move follows the Sri Lanka national cricket team having mixed results both in the long and short version of the game.
Meanwhile Jayasuriya in a short statement over the weekend had confirmed that he will be receiving the new appointment.
“It is an unexpected journey that I will have to go on with the new post as the chairman of the National Selection Committee of Sri Lanka Cricket Board (SLCB). My main objective will be to make a decent test side, as we all know that test cricket is the best form of the game which follows up with One day(50 over) cricket which is superior in its own ways,” Jayasuriya said. (Colombo Gazette)