NEGC Club Championship 2012 concludes on a high note

The Nuwara Eliya Golf Club (NEGC) Club Championship 2012, a board tournament sponsored by Etisalat Lanka and open to all NEGC members in both Men’s and Women’s categories, concluded recently with Zen Dharmaratne and Jackie Dias being crowned the Gents & Ladies ‘Club Champions’ respectively.

The 3-day championship tournament, the biggest Golf Tournament hosted by the NEGC, attracted over 100 golfers, with winners walking away with the latest Etisalat Devices and Awards. With this tie-up with the NEGC, Etisalat Lanka has further demonstrated its continuing support for the game of golf in Sri Lanka and has become the first private organization to partner with all four golf clubs in the island.

In winning their titles, Zen Dharmaratne edged out Amrith de Zoysa while Jackie Dias got the better of Dhanushi Senadhira. In ‘Division A’ of the Gents event, Sachin De Silva was the Winner with Sujeewa Lankathilake being the Runner-up while in ‘Division B’ Janka Gallangoda came out on top with Primal Wijenayake coming in as the Runner-up. ‘Division C’ was won by Anil Amarasuriya who beat Tommy Wijesekara while the ‘Senior Division’ was won by Prasanna Goonathilake with Herman Gunaratne being the Runner-up. In the Ladies events, A. Senadhira got the better of S. Selvaratnam to come out on top in ‘Division A’ while N. Amarasuriya was the Winner in ‘Division B’ with S. Desinghe coming in as the Runner-up.

Speaking on this tournament, Etisalat Sri Lanka Director/CEO, Dumindra Ratnayaka stated, “Etisalat has always being committed to Sri Lankan sports and we are proud to be a part of this year’s NEGC Club Championship. As expected, we witnessed some top class golfing talent in action – some of whom we hope will be able to compete at international events.” He added that Etisalat will continue to give special focus to the nurturing golf in Sri Lanka, with the company now an integral part of the Sri Lankan golfing fraternity.

On conclusion of a successful tournament, NEGC President, Mr. Vernon Tissera stated, “It has been a hugely successful tournament with many notable performances by both the Gents & the Ladies. The Club is thankful to Etisalat Lanka for its continued support for Golf in Sri Lanka and we look forward to bigger success stories in the future.”

During the event, Etisalat extended its Etisalat Elite Club loyalty scheme to the NEGC by hosting the quarterly draw at the club premises. Etisalat Elite Club members were entitled to special deals and discounts at the NEGC. This includes discounts on green fees, accommodation and F & B. The Etisalat Elite Club was formed following the culmination of the very first Etisalat Golf Classic in 2010. To be eligible for Elite Club membership, Etisalat customers need to be members of the Royal Colombo Golf Club, Victoria Golf Club or Nuwara Eliya Golf Club and maintain a usage criterion. Other benefits enjoyed by the members of the Etisalat Elite Club include privileged and priority service at Etisalat, special discounts on latest top end devices, Quarterly draws which awards gifts worth Rs. 150,000, annual golf tours, special discounts and facilities at Victoria Golf and Country Resort & the Nuwara Eliya Golf Club and many more offers.

Ever since the inaugural Gents tournament was won by M.H. Lushington back in 1933, the NEGC tournament has witnessed several outstanding performances over the years. W.P. Fernando’s successful run in the 60s which included 5 wins between 1961 and 1970 was one such occasion. He was the first to win 3 consecutive titles (1968-1970), a feat which was repeated by S.E. Captain during his hat trick of win in the 70s (1976-1977). In recent times, R. Captain has dominated proceedings with 9 wins in 11 years, which also included 6 consecutive wins from 2001 to 2006.

The Ladies tournament commenced in 1939, with a win by Mrs. E. B. Currie. Although the Ladies event has not had the continuity of the Gents game due to various factors, there have been some eye-catching performances over the years. This is the 3rd year the Ladies event has taken place since it restarted in 2010.