Impeachment motion on CJ submitted

The impeachment motion on Chief Justice Shirani Bandaranayake was handed over to Speaker Chamal Rajapaksa today, the government said.

Cabinet spokesman Minister Keheliya Rambukwella said that over 75 government parliamentarians had signed the motion which was handed over to the Speaker.

He said that over 75 signatures are required to have the motion passed in parliament.

Meanwhile Minister Pavithra Wanniarachchi said that 117 government parliamentarians had signed the motion.

She said that the Speaker, as per the provisions in the Constitution, if there is a prima facie case against the Chief Justice as per the motion submitted, should appoint a Parliamentary Select Committee to inquire into the motion or should hold a Parliamentary debate on the motion and in both instances the Chief Justice could be summoned to answer the charges against her.

Minister Wanniarachchi said that charges in the motion include irregularities done by the Chief Justice while holding the post of Chief Justice and certain matters relating to personal issues.