Sanath to lead World XI for Pakistan series

Pakistan’s Dr Muhammad Ali Shah, who is the organiser of the upcoming two Twenty20 series in Karachi between Pakistan Stars XI and World XI led by former Sri Lanakan batting star batsmen Sanath Jayasuriya, has announced names of three more players for the visiting XI, the Nation newspaper in Pakistan reported.

In a media briefing in Karachi, the well known orthopedic surgeon who is currently sports minister of Sindh said: “Recordo Powell of the West Indies, Moranantau Hayword and Andre Johan Semon both of South Africa have been included in the World XI which will arrive here in Karachi on October 18.  The two T20 series between the two star-studded teams will be played at the National Stadium on October 20 to 21 under floodlights.

About six months ago, Dr Shah had announced holding of the series but at the advice of the PCB, he decided to shift the series to October.  In the meantime, all the arrangements to hold the series have been completed. Former West Indies batting star Alvin Kalicharan will manage the team which will be captained by Sanath Jayasuriya of Sri Lanka.

World XI: Justin Camp, Lungile Bosman, Tashabalala, Andre Adam, Moranantau Hayword, Andre Johan Semore, Adam Sanford, Steven Taylor, Jeff Miller, Jermaine Lawson, Shahpoor Zardan, Shahzad Aslan and Recordo Powell.