Sri Lanka, South Africa qualify for Super Eight

South Africa and hosts Sri Lank became the first two teams to qualify for the second round of the Twenty 20 cricket world cup on Friday after South Africa beat Zimbabwe in a group stage match.

The South Africans beat Zimbabwe by 10 wickets on Thursday night in the Group C match while the hosts had also beaten Zimbabwe in the opening match of the tournament.

Three teams makeup of the four groups in the tournament and Sri Lanka, South Africa and Zimbabwe are in Group C. The top two teams of each group qualify for the super eight round of the tournament.

Sri Lanka and South Africa face each other in the final Group C match tomorrow in Hambantota.


T20 World Cup 2012 Points Table
Group A
India (A1)110002+1.15159/20.0136/20.0
England (A2)
Group B
Australia (B1)110002+2.092125/15.1120/20.0
West Indies (B2)
Group C
Sri Lanka (C1)110002+4.1182/20.0100/20.0
South Africa (C2)110002+2.77194/12.493/20.0
Group D
New Zealand (D1)
Pakistan (D2)
* Top 2 teams from each group qualifies for Super Eight.