Sanga sweeps the ICC awards

Former Sri Lankan cricket captain Kumar Sangakkara won big at the ICC Cricket Awards in Colombo this evening winning the Cricketer of the year award, People’s Choice award and Test Cricketer of the year award.

Meanwhile former Sri Lankan Test cricketer Kumar Dharmasena won the umpire of the year award.

West Indies cricketing great Brian Lara was among those handing out the awards at the ceremony.

The long-lists of nominations were made by a five-man ICC selection panel chaired by former West Indies captain and current chairman of the ICC Cricket Committee Clive Lloyd. The panel also includes former international players Clare Connor of England, Tom Moody of Australia, Carl Hooper of West Indies and Sri Lanka’s Marvan Atapattu.


ICC Emerging Cricketer of the Year: Sunil Narine (West Indies):

ICC Spirit of Cricket Awards: Daniel Vettori (New Zealand)

ICC Associate & Affiliate Cricketer of the Year: George Dockrell (Ireland)

ICC Twenty20 Performance of the Year: Richard Levi (South Africa)

David Shepherd Trophy for ICC Umpire of the Year: Kumara Dharmasena (Sri Lanka)

LG People’s Choice Award: Kumar Sangakkara (Sri Lanka)

ICC ODI Cricketer of the Year: Virat Kohli (India)

ICC ODI Women’s Cricketer of the Year: Stefanie Taylor (West Indies):

ICC Women’s T20 Player of the Year: Sarah Taylor (England)

ICC Test Cricketer of the Year: Kumar Sangakkara (Sri Lanka)

Sir Garfield Sobers Trophy for ICC Cricketer of the Year: Kumar Sangakkara (Sri Lanka)