Sachin rested for Sri Lanka tour

Sachin Tendulkar has been rested from the 5-match ODI series against Sri Lanka starting on July 21. Ravindra Jadeja, who failed to impress during the stint with Chennai Super Kings in the 2012 edition of the Indian Premier League has been axed from the squad. Jadeja had also failed to contribute anything substantial during the tour of Australia as well as the Asia Cup and his selection ahead of other deserving candidates was being constantly criticized. The Pathan brothers, Irfan and Yusuf, have also been left out.

As expected, Virender Sehwag and Zaheer Khan have made a comeback into the side. Harbhajan Singh was not considered with the selectors opting for three spinners in Ravichandran Ashwin, Pragyan Ojha and Rahul Sharma. Harbhajan Singh had recently signed a contract with Essex, an English county side and was never in serious contention for a place in the Indian side.

Ajinkya Rahane, who impressed in the IPL has been rewarded with a place in the team despite his lack of runs during the Indian ‘A’ team tour of the Caribbean Islands. The rest of the selection was along expected lines with Rohit Sharma and Manoj Tiwary being retained in the middle order. Zaheer will lead the pace bowling department and will be supported by Umesh Yadav, Vinay Kumar and Ashok Dinda.

M S Dhoni has been retained as the captain while Virat Kohli will be his deputy.

Speaking to the press after the meeting, chairman of the national selection committee, Kris Srikkanth said that Sachin Tendulkar was not available for the ODI series, but would be available for the home series against New Zealand. He felt that the team selected was the best under the prevailing circumstances. He also said that there were very positive over the comeback of Yuvraj Singh. With a long season looming ahead, Srikkanth was positive that India will emerge as a triumphant force in future. The squad for the T20 World Cup will be announced in due course. Indian coach, Duncan Fletcher was also a part of the selection meeting. (Cricbuzz)

Team: Virender Sehwag, Gautam Gambhir, Ajinkya Rahane, Virat Kohli, Rohit Sharma, Suresh Raina, Manoj Tiwary, M S Dhoni(c & wk), Ravichandran Ashwin, Pragyan Ojha, Rahul Sharma, Zaheer Khan, R Vinay Kumar, Umesh Yadav, Ashok Dinda.