UNP UK branch youth slam MR

The youth front of the UNP branch in Britain have accused President Mahinda Rajapaksa saying his family members are using public money for their personal benefits.

A statement by the UNP National Youth Front-UK Branch today (Monday) said that while the President’s family enjoy the heavenly lifestyle, the youth of the country suffer with rising unemployment and the cost of living.

“This culture should be immediately changed and the youth could play a major role in that process,” Darshan Daniel, Secretary of the National Youth Front said.

The UNP National Youth Front-UK Branch also condemned the burning of the national flag by separatist factions of the pro LTTE Diaspora a few weeks ago during protests in London.

Meanwhile the second Annual General Meeting of National Youth Front-UK Branch was held on 10 June 2012 at Moorespice Restaurant in Wembley Park.

The event was attended by a large gathering who showed stern commitment to work together to promote democratic ethos of the United National Party at a time Sri Lanka urgently needs a regime change, the statement added.

The main purpose of the meeting was to elect new office bearers for the forthcoming year and launch membership drive. The United National Party – UK Branch formerly accepted the newly elected committee to represent the UK branch young wing.

Wijaya Sri Bandara was elected as a president of the organisation while Darshan Daniel was re-elected as the Secretary. Thushan Gunaratne retained his position as the treasurer.


The new committee 2012

President.   Wijaya Sri bandara

Vice President.   Madawa Senanayaka

Secretary.   Darshan Daniel

Asst Secretary.   Chatura Kosala Bandara

Media Secretary.   Manoj Wijesinghe

Treasurer.   Thusan Gunarathne

Organiser.   Dasitha Gamage

Membership Development Secretary. Malidu Dulan Weerasinghe


Comity members


1  Shanaka Fernando

2  Chamath Bandara

3  Malidu Obesekara

4  Yasantha Sirinatha

5  Vimuthi Bandara

6  Lasitha Senanayaka

7  Sachindra Bandara

8  Indika Subasinhe

9  Denelka Peris

10  Hansika Weerasinghe

11  Kevin Senevirathne

12  Arjuna Samarasekara