Sanath, 3 others want Ministerial posts

Former cricketer and SLFP parliamentarian Sanath Jayasuriya, Galle district parliamentarian Nishantha Muttuhettigama and two others have written to President Mahinda Rajapaksa seeking Ministerial posts.

Muttuhettigama told the Colombo Gazette that the four parliamentarians, which also includes Sarath Weerasekera and Lakshman Wasantha Perera, have told the President that they should be given Ministerial post considering their performance at the last parliamentary elections.

The letter was handed over to the President on Thursday and the President has said he will consider the request of the four government parliamentarians.

Muttuhettigama noted that he had secured the highest number of votes during the last parliamentary elections in Galle while Jayasuriya got the highest in Matara, Weerasekera in Ampara and Perera in Matale for the government.

Taking that into consideration the four parliamentarians felt that the President should consider giving them either a post of a Minister or Deputy Minister.

Muttuhettigama said that there was also speculation of a cabinet re-shuffle soon and he hopes during such a re-shuffle the four parliamentarians will be given posts.


(Report by Indika Sri Aravinda for Colombo Gazette)