Police announce major changes

Police headquarters, in a special media release a short while ago, said that over 30 police officials holding the ranks of Deputy Inspector General of police (DIG) have ben transferred with immediate effect.

According to the police headquarters the DIGs have been transferred based on the requirements of the Sri Lankan police service.

The police also announced that 20 police officers holding the rank of SSP have also been transferred with immediate effect.

Earlier in the day the Police Headquarters also announced that Colombo DIG Anura Senayake had been appointed as Senior Deputy Inspector General of Police in the Western Province.

The transfers announced tonight saw new DIGs appointed to the Special Task Force, DIG crimes, special security division including the Ministerial security Division (MSD), Presidential Security Division (PSD) and the Terrorism Investigations Division (TID).

New DIGs were also appointed to Colombo, Jaffna, Ampara, Badulla, Trincomalee, Batticaloa, Killinochchi, Galle, Kurunegala, Wanni, Nuwera Eliya, Kandy, Hambantota and Puttalam among other areas.